It’s Been A While…

I could tell you a really boring story about all the nothing that I did while I was away from here but it’s totally not worth it.  What I DO want to do, however, is just jump in to some of my thoughts.  Maybe typing them will help with the thinking them out.  Hopefully you guys find some stimulation or have something to add, so why not just jump right in…here we go!

There are a lot of things that I admittedly don’t understand.  Lately, for example, I’ve seen a lot of particularly disturbing things while cruising around the interwebs and what I’ve seen has really bothered me!  My main beef is with blatant hate-filled speech directed from person to person.  I understand that not everyone is going to get along.  I don’t get along with everyone that I know, but directly targeting another person with what most would consider clear abuse, bullying, and threats of physical violence?  No, not okay and I just don’t get it…  I don’t see how differences of opinion, race, religion, orientation, gender, etc. can bring a person to that point where it’s honestly pretty scary and twisted to see what’s being typed out for not only one person to see and read, but the many who are connected.  I don’t know how to excuse that behavior, nor do I think that it should be excused…but…what are we supposed to do?  The threat may not be directed at us and maybe there are others adding fuel to the fire but is it our responsibility to do or say something?  And, if so, what?  It’s so confusing.

I think the basic problem now is that these online bullies feel, in a way, protected by their computer screen and their distance that they somehow lose their filter.

I could never tell someone that they are worthless, that they should kill themselves, that they deserved to get abused or raped because of the way they acted.  How heartless?  How removed?  Maybe that’s the point…it’s a removal…from self, from a semblance of societal propriety.  I really hope we can find our way back.  I know we’re not perfect and I know we’ll still have people who are bullies and blatantly abusive, but I really want good to win out here.  I want to feel better about the place in which we live because I think we can do better than we’re doing now.  Shouldn’t we all want to do better?

 

“Your beliefs don’t make you a better person, your behavior does.”

Leave a Reply

